OFFICES IN Washington D.C. & New Delhi

Center For Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy

GARP: Kenya

GARP-Kenya began in 2009, and continues under the leadership of Professor Sam Kariuki, director of the Centre for Microbiology at the Kenya Medical Research Institute.


Recent Activities

The Ministry of Health has established a National Antimicrobial Resistance Advisory Committee to the Ministry of Health, on which many GARP members serve. The AMR focal point in the Ministry is GARP coordinator Eveline Wesangula.


Situation Analysis

Situation Analysis and Recommendations: Antibiotic Use and Resistance in Kenya (2011)
Full Report | Executive Summary


Quick Facts

Secretariat: Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)
Chair: Prof. Samuel Kariuki, Director, Centre for Microbiology Research, KEMRI
Coordinator: Dr. Eveline Wesangula, AMR Focal Point, Ministry of Health ([email protected])
Inaugural meeting: 2009


Completed Research

Kariuki S, Gordon M, Feasey N, Parry C. Antimicrobial resistance and management of invasive Salmonella disease. Vaccine. 2015.
Kusemererwa D, Kariuki S, Winters C, Braykov N, Megiddo I, Plant S and Wesangula E. Survey of antibiotic prices in public, private, and mission district-level hospitals in Kenya. Pharmaceutical Journal of Kenya 2014.
Irungu, P. Analysis of economic incentives influencing farmers’ use of antibiotics in livestock production in Kenya. Final Report. 2011.
Ecumenical Pharmaceutical Network. An exploratory pilot study on knowledge, attitudes and perceptions concerning antimicrobial resistance and antibiotic use practices among hospital staff in Kenya 2010.


GARP-Kenya Working Group

Sam Kariuki, PhD Director, Centre for Microbiology Research, KEMRI

Linus Ndegwa, MPHE, HCS, PGD Ophth Program Manager, Infection Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Eveline Wesangula, B.Pharm, Msc TID AMR Focal Point, Ministry of Health

Working Group Members
Peter Gathumbi, BVM, MSc, PhD, Department of Veterinary Pathology, Microbiology and Parasitology, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Nairobi
Moses Gichia, BVM, MSc, Department of Veterinary Services, Ministry of Livestock Development
Patrick Irungu, PhD Lecturer, Department of Agricultural Economics, University of Nairobi
Rose Kakai, PhD Chairperson, Department of Medical Microbiology, School of Medicine, Maseno University
Ndinda Kusu, MPharm Senior Program Associate, Management Sciences for Health
Stella Kiambi, Veterinary Doctor, BVM Department of Veterinary Services
Susanne Kuehle, PHD Programme Officer, Pharmaceutical Services, Ecumenical Pharmaceutical Network
Tom Menge, MSc Chief Pharmacist, Toxicology, Kenyatta National Hospital
Jennifer Orwa, PhD, MSc, BPharm Centre for Traditional Medicines and Research, Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)
Jayesh Pandit, MPharm Pharmacovigilance Country Head, Middle Africa Region, Bayer HealthCare
Gunturu Revathi, MD Associate Professor, Division of Microbiology, Director of Pathology, Aga Khan University Hospital