OFFICES IN Washington D.C. & New Delhi

Center For Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy

GARP: Nepal

GARP-Nepal began in 2013, and continues under the leadership of Dr. Buddha Basnyat of the Patan Hospital and Oxford Clinical Research Unit, Kathmandu.


Recent Activities

The GARP-Nepal working group has been one of the major forces behind the government’s recent increased focus on AMR, including the formation of a National Alliance on AMR which has drafted a national antibiotic resistance policy with participation from GARP.

GARP-Nepal held a meeting on AMR curricula, “Role of Academic Health Institutions in Combating Anti-Microbial Resistance in Nepal: A National symposium” in BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dharan. GARP-Nepal working group member Dr. Mukri Narayan Shrestha was the first veterinarian from Asia awarded the WSAVA Global Award recognizing veterinarians for meritorious service.


Situation Analysis

Situation Analysis and Recommendations: Antibiotic Use and Resistance in Nepal (2014)

Full Report | Executive Summary


Quick Facts

Secretariat: Nepal Public Health Foundation
Chair: Dr. Buddha Basnyat, Patan Hospital and Oxford Clinical Research Unit, Kathmandu
Vice Chair: Dr. Paras Pokharel, B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dharan
Principle Investigator: Dr. Sameer Dixit, Center for Molecular Dynamics, Kathmandu
Coordinator: Ms. Santoshi Giri, Nepal Public Health Foundation ([email protected])
Inaugural meeting: 2013


Ongoing Research

Study of antimicrobial use patterns, drug residues and antimicrobial resistance in food producing animals in Nepal
Drug Resistance Index in Patan Hospital


Working Group

Buddha Basnynat, MD, Director, Oxford University Clinical Health Research Unit, Patan Hospital

Vice Chair
Paras Pokharel, MD Head of Department, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dharan

Working Group Members
Sameer Mani Dixit, PhD, Country Director, Center for Molecular Dynamics, Nepal
Abhilasha Karkey, PhD, Medical Microbiologist, Oxford University Clinical Health Research Unit, Patan Hospital
Basudha Khanal, MD Professor, Microbiology, B.P Koirala Institute of Health Science
Shrawan Kumar Mishra, MPH, President, Nepal Health Professional Council
Devi Prasai, PhD, Member, Nepal Health Economist Association
Bhabana Shrestha, MD, Director, German Nepal Tuberculosis Project
Mukti Shrestha, BVSc, MS, Veterinarian, Veterinary Clinics, Pulchowk
Shrijana Shrestha, MD, Dean, Patan Academy of Health Science
Sharapa Thapaliya, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Surgery, Agriculture and Forestry University, Rampur
Palpasa Kansakar, PhD, Microbiologist, World Health Organization